This article aims to clearly summarise the breadth of functionality available to customers using Guestline and GuestJoy.

🔁 Reservation update frequency

As of April 2021, reservation data is refreshed from Guestline to GuestJoy once per day. This includes new reservations, and updates to existing reservations.

❗ Only reservations 45 days into the future (based on date of arrival) are brought back to GuestJoy.


✍ Check-in module

Guests are able to complete GuestJoy's check-in form, which then updates the reservation in Guestline (and ultimately in GuestJoy, once the next batch of reservation updates are sent from Guestline).

The following data fields in Guestline can be modified via a guest completing the GuestJoy check-in form:

  • First name*

  • Last name*

  • Email address*

  • Phone

  • Country

  • Date of birth

❗ The fields marked with an asterisk (*) must be present on the GuestJoy check-in form, or else the entire process will not work.

All other data collected via GuestJoy's check-in form will be stored in the Notes & Logs > Private notes section of each booking.


❗ Currently, the importing of files uploaded as part of GuestJoy's check-in form (eg. passport scans) to Guestline is not supported. These files will still be accessible from the guest's profile page in GuestJoy, and the links to these files will also recorded in the Notes & Logs section of a reservation in Guestline.


🎁 Upsell module

Setting up offers

Each offer in GuestJoy needs to be mapped to its respective item in Guestline, so that the appropriate charges can be added to the guest's invoice.


This is achieved under the Advanced tab when setting up an offer:

Only products of type Bedroom Check in offer, Bedroom Upsell, Bedroom Upsell and Check in offer and Function Upsell and Check in offer will be shown.

Additionally, if a product does not appear in this mapping field in GuestJoy - despite it belonging to one of the aforementioned product types - the most likely cause of this is that the option Expose to > Web service has not been checked in the offer set up in Guestline:

When a guest places an order using GuestJoy

  • The offer will not appear in Guestline unless it is Confirmed in GuestJoy first. This is done under Guest Activity > Orders:

  • If an offer is confirmed and is already in Guestline, it will be added as an item under Upsell in the reservation:

    Note that only the total amount is represented with a quantity of 1 - the actual quantity of items (eg. bottles of wine) ordered will only be available in GuestJoy.

  • If an offer is confirmed and is already in Guestline, it can be can cancelled from GuestJoy, and the item will be removed from Guestline automatically. Remember that when cancelling (and confirming) offers in GuestJoy, a short transactional email will be sent to the guest informing them of this change.

Setting up room upgrades

Setting up room upgrades follows all the same steps and functionality as offers, with the following differences.

Each room upgrade in GuestJoy needs to be mapped to its respective offer and room type the upgrade is for (as in, the room the guest will upgrade to) in Guestline, so that the appropriate charges can be added to the guest's invoice.


This is achieved under the Advanced tab when setting up an offer:

When a guest wants to upgrade their room using GuestJoy

  • The possibility to order a room upgrade in GuestJoy is based on live availability. This availability is checked on page load (that is, when a guest opens the actual "Upgrade from economy to superior!" page in GuestJoy's Concierge. If, at the time of page load, there was availability of the room type to be upgraded to, then the call-to-action button will be active and shows the CTA label selected in the setup of the upgrade offer (eg. "Order now"). However, if there is no or insufficient availability, the call-to-action button will instead be greyed-out and will read "Sold out" in English, or the equivalent translation for whichever language is currently active in the UI.

  • Even though room upgrades are based on live availability, the order still needs to be marked as confirmed in GuestJoy in order for it to then be updated in Guestline - including changing room allocations, etc. This is a known restriction at present.

  • Room upgrades differ from regular offers insofar as they cannot be cancelled in GuestJoy. This needs to be modified directly in Guestline.

Did this answer your question?